Our School
Faculty & Staff Directory

Art Teacher Lynn Zinder Wins 2020 Cramer Award

Seven faculty and staff members and coaches were honored at the 2020 Board, Faculty, and Staff Dinner.
During this year’s Board, Faculty, and Staff Dinner, teachers, coaches, and staff members joined together for an evening of food and fun. Seven faculty and staff were honored for their outstanding contributions to the Spartan community, including Lower School art teacher Lynn Zinder, who received the thirteenth annual Paul R. Cramer Award, given in memory of the former Steward headmaster to a faculty member who best embraces the characteristics of “balance, perspective, and humor.”

Mrs. Zinder joined Steward’s faculty in 1994 after submitting a note of interest to then-Director of the Lower School Ed Rossmoore. “I understand from [Lower School math teacher] Beverley Fox that this position will be available in the fall,” Mrs. Zinder wrote. “I believe my diverse teaching experiences will allow me to offer an exciting approach to the Lower School art education program.”

Since becoming a full-time faculty member, Mrs. Zinder has more than lived up to her note’s claim, shaping the Lower School art curriculum for years to come and touching the lives of countless students, faculty, and staff in the process.

Head of School Dan Frank spoke about Mrs. Zinder’s 26 years of teaching at Steward by praising her ability to elicit originality from students.

“It’s not merely that Lynn teaches her young ones to follow instructions, which is certainly important,” Mr. Frank said, “but that she also teaches them to figure out how to build something. What Lynn does strikes the balance: regardless of the instructions, each child comes out with a piece that is uniquely theirs.”

Mr. Frank also noted Mrs. Zinder’s active involvement as a volunteer in the greater Richmond community. A few of the organizations that she has been or is still involved with include the McShin Foundation, Reinhart House, Real Life Community Center, SOAR365, and several others, whose missions range from prison reform to drug rehabilitation to combatting homelessness.

“Her love language is about helping others,” Mr. Frank said. “This is her why; this is her purpose.”

Previous Cramer Award honorees include Margaret Maclin, Heather Jeter, Robin Ricketts, Catesby Jones, Bonnie Anderson, Carolyn Brandt, Beverley Fox, Gardner Mundy, Rugene Paulette, Janet Rice, Louise Robertson, and Chris Tickle, each of whom received a grant to use toward professional development as part of the award.

After Mrs. Zinder’s award presentation, six additional awards were presented to faculty and staff members to recognize their outstanding contributions to Steward. Each recipient was given an engraved plaque and a check.

The Lower School award is named for Debbie Hanger, a trustee and beloved member of the community who served as director of Lower School for a decade. The 2020 Debbie Hanger Outstanding Lower School Teacher Award was presented to junior-kindergarten teacher Katy Koppanyi.

The Middle School award is named for Roger Coulombe, former director of Middle School and head of school who was known for being compassionate, caring, and deeply committed to Steward’s mission and community. The 2020 Roger Coulombe Outstanding Middle School Teacher Award was presented to Betsy Orgain, seventh-grade science teacher.

The Upper School award is named for Carolyn Brandt, who spent 32 years at Steward and was—and continues to be—an integral part of Steward’s growth and a champion of the school’s mission. The 2020 Carolyn Brandt Outstanding Upper School Teacher Award was presented to Dean of Student Support Livia McCoy.

The Parents Association presented a staff recognition award named for former Director of the Physical Plant Bob Sanders, who spent two decades supervising the growth of Steward’s campus. The 2020 Robert Sanders, Jr. Outstanding Staff Member Award was presented to Jane Carter, associate director of admissions for the Lower School.

The Spartan Club presented two awards to coaches who have made a significant impact on their teams and at Steward, inspiring our players to be competitive athletes as well as respectful, engaged citizens. This year’s awards were presented to Kurt Hammerschmidt, boys and girls varsity tennis coach, and Kara Bacile, athletic assistant and girls varsity basketball coach.

General Contact

The Steward School
11600 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23238

phone: (804) 740-3394
fax: (804) 740-1464

Media Contact

If you are a member of the press and would like more information about The Steward School, please contact Director of Marketing and Communications Rachel Williard at rachel.williard@stewardschool.org or (804) 565-2319.

If you are looking for contact information for a specific Steward employee, please click here.
Copyright 2022 The Steward School