Athletic Staff Directory

Working together to unleash the possibilities, on and off the field

Bruce Secrest
Director of Athletics and Baseball Coach
Bruce.Secrest@stewardschool.org
(804) 565-2305

Christen Heidler
Assistant Director of Athletics
Christen.Heidler@stewardschool.org
(804) 740-3394 x3406

Kara Bacile
Athletics Assistant/Head Varsity Girls Basketball Coach/Girls Basketball Program Contact
Kara.Bacile@stewardschool.org
(804) 740-3394 x3410

Garrett Compton
Athletic Operations Manager
Garrett.Compton@stewardschool.org
(804) 740-3394 x3596

Katherine Kesler
Athletic Trainer
Katherine.Kesler@stewardschool.org
(804) 740-3394 x3405

Andrew Lee
Strength and Conditioning Coach
Andrew.Lee@stewardschool.org

Laura Akesson
Cross Country Coach
Laura.Akesson@stewardschool.org

Susan Twining
Field Hockey Coach
Susan.Twining@stewardschool.org

Edward "EJ" Watkins
Boys Soccer Coach
Edward.Watkins@stewardschool.org

Kurt Hammerschmidt
Tennis Coach
Kurt.Hammerschmidt@stewardschool.org

Greg Young
Volleyball Coach
Greg.Young@stewardschool.org

Curt Kassab
Boys Basketball Coach
Curt.Kassab@stewardschool.org

Lucy Lloyd
Head Cheerleading Coach/Cheerleading Program Contact
Lucy.Lloyd@stewardschool.org

Eric Hopp
Swimming Coach
Eric.Hopp@stewardschool.org

Catesby Jones
Golf Coach
Catesby.Jones@stewardschool.org

Jim Tyler
Boys Lacrosse Coach
Jim.Tyler@stewardschool.org

Bonnie Corrigan
Girls Lacrosse Coach
Bonnie.Corrigan@stewardschool.org

Patrick Tucker
Girls Soccer Coach
Patrick.Tucker@stewardschool.org

Diane Maise
Varsity Diving Coach
Diane.Maise@stewardschool.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright 2019 The Steward School

The Steward School Mission

Our mission at The Steward School is to prepare our students for college and for life in a community defined by robust academics, inspiration, engagement, and care. We invite you to learn why so many families have chosen to become part of our community.

 

Explore Campus      Learn from the Experts

Experience "The Steward Way"

The Steward School is committed to the kind of education that recognizes individuality and fosters potential through a differentiated approach. If you value small class sizes, close connections with faculty and fellow students, and a challenging yet supportive academic environment with broad opportunities, then Steward may be the right school for you.

 

Learn More     Schedule a Visit    Apply Online

An Education as Unique as Your Child

We are proud to offer a comprehensive curriculum to students in junior kindergarten through twelfth grade. Discover the incredible opportunities we provide for each learner.

 

Lower School     Middle School     Upper School

Explore the World of the Arts

Whether setting the stage, striking a chord, creating a masterpiece, or simply exploring individual talents and interests, exposure to the arts develops important life skills necessary for students to succeed in academic areas and everyday life experiences. By providing our students with multiple creative outlets, we seek to nurture talents, build confidence, and help students discover passions.

 

Visual Arts     Music     Theatre

One School. One Team.

Participation, skill building, and sportsmanship are the cornerstones of The Steward School’s athletic program. At all levels, our coaching program is dedicated to giving students the training and experience necessary to develop a lifelong appreciation of physical activity, skill development, and, above all, teamwork.

 

Athletic Calendar     Sports Programs

A New Way of Learning

The Bryan Innovation Lab is a 21st-century, problem-solving environment. Through experiential learning in this cutting-edge facility, students are able to grapple with real world issues, challenging their critical thinking and resourcefulness.

 

Explore the Lab

Beyond the Classroom

The Steward School is a place of learning for the greater Richmond community through various campus programs. Whether you're interested in attending our annual gala, signing your child up for one of our summer camps, or learning more about LEAP, we welcome you to the Steward community.

 

Special Events     Summer Experience

It's for Steward Students!

Your gift to the Annual Fund helps ensure that each student receives the best educational experience at Steward. With the Annual Giving Family of Funds, you can direct your giving and make an impact in the area that you find most meaningful.

 

Learn More     Give Today